Nine hotels and motels in the Durango area post a dog policy on their own sites, and the fees run from a one-time $45 at the Siesta Motel to $75 a night at the Strater Hotel for a dog over 35 pounds. Two well-known stays turn dogs away: the General Palmer Hotel and Country Sunshine Bed and Breakfast. Everything below comes from each property's own policy page, read in October 2026.
This guide covers hotels, motels, inns, cabins and RV parks in the Durango area. For the full hotel ranking, see our best hotels in Durango guide. For trails, patios and leash rules, see dog friendly Durango.
Which Durango hotels allow dogs?
Nine properties say yes in writing. The Rochester Hotel and the Siesta Motel limit which rooms take dogs, so ask for a dog room when you book.
| Property | Area | Pet fee as posted | Limits | Cats | Rooms limited? | Google rating |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Strater Hotel | Downtown | $50 per dog per night up to 35 lb; $75 over | 2 dogs; none in public areas | Not stated | Pet-friendly rooms | 4.5 (1,814) |
| Rochester Hotel | Downtown | Not posted | 2 dogs per room; no weight or breed limit | No cats, birds or exotics | Two king rooms only | 4.9 (472) |
| Leland House Suites | Downtown | $40 per pet per night | 2 dogs | Only with written approval | Designated pet rooms | 4.9 (136) |
| Durango Lodge | Downtown edge | $50 per stay | 2 dogs | No cats | Not stated | 4.3 (362) |
| Siesta Motel | North Main | $45 once per stay | Dogs only; 2 per room | No | Deluxe King and 2 Room Suites excluded | 4.7 (606) |
| Quality Inn | North Main | $30 per pet per night | Dogs only; 2, up to 75 lb each | No | Designated rooms | 3.7 (668) |
| Wapiti Lodge | US-160 West | $30 per pet per night | 2 pets; five breeds banned | Not stated | Not stated | 3.9 (278) |
| Boundary Hotel | North Main | $35 per night | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 4.6 (64) |
| Adobe Inn | North Main | "For a fee"; amount not posted | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 3.4 (485) |
Ratings are Google's, as synced to our listings in October 2026. They will drift.
The sources, in table order: the Strater pet policy, the Rochester's policies, the Leland House policies, the Durango Lodge policy page, the Siesta pet policy, the Quality Inn services page, the Wapiti Lodge policies, the Boundary Hotel FAQ and the Adobe Inn home page.
Three details to know before you book:
- The Strater's sheet is dated December 2023. Its fees may have changed. Confirm them when you reserve.
- The Quality Inn's page looks older than the rest. It also asks for a $300 refundable deposit or a card on file. Call to confirm both.
- Wapiti Lodge bans five breeds: Bull Terriers, Rottweilers, Stafford Bull Terriers, Doberman Pinschers and any wolf mix. It also asks guests with a noisy dog not to bring it. The lodge is about 11 miles by road from the depot, off US-160 West.
Which Durango hotels do not allow dogs?
Three well-known stays do not, and each says so on its own site.
| Property | What its own site says | Service dogs |
|---|---|---|
| General Palmer Hotel | "The General Palmer is not pet friendly" | Allowed on a leash |
| Country Sunshine Bed and Breakfast | "We cannot accept guest pets"; it names Willow Tree Kennels, 5 minutes away | Welcome; tell them when booking |
| Colorado Trails Ranch | Guests may not bring pets, because of the animals already on the ranch | Not stated |
The sources are the General Palmer booking policy, the Country Sunshine policies and the ranch FAQ.
One conflict is worth a phone call. Downtown Durango's dog guide lists the Durango Downtown Inn as dog friendly. The booking site that its listing points to marks pets as not allowed. We could not resolve that, so ask before you pay.
Which Durango lodging posts no dog policy at all?
We found no dog policy in October 2026 at six: the Gable House Inn, Adventure Inn, the Caboose Motel, The Junction Hotel and Hostel, Spanish Trails and Antlers on the Creek. Their sites say neither yes nor no. Call before you assume.
Chain hotels are a second gap. Downtown Durango lists the Doubletree, the Hampton Inn and the Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn as dog friendly. Their brand sites blocked our check, so we can't give you a fee. Ask each one for the fee, the weight limit and the room type at booking.
How much does a dog add to a three-night stay?
For one dog, the Siesta Motel costs $45 and the Strater Hotel costs $150 to $225. The table below runs the posted fees over three nights.
| Property | Fee rule | One dog, 3 nights | Two dogs, 3 nights |
|---|---|---|---|
| Siesta Motel | $45 once per stay | $45 | $45 as posted |
| Durango Lodge | $50 per stay | $50 | $50 as posted |
| Quality Inn | $30 per pet per night | $90 | $180 |
| Wapiti Lodge | $30 per pet per night | $90 | $180 |
| Boundary Hotel | $35 per night | $105 | Not stated |
| Leland House Suites | $40 per pet per night | $120 | $240 |
| Strater Hotel, up to 35 lb | $50 per dog per night | $150 | $300 |
| Strater Hotel, over 35 lb | $75 per dog per night | $225 | $450 |
| Rochester Hotel | No fee posted | Not listed | Not listed |
Two things stand out. First, flat fees beat nightly fees from the second night on. The Leland House is cheaper than the Siesta for a single night ($40 against $45), then costs more from night two. Second, a large dog at the Strater costs $225 over three nights, five times the Siesta's fee. Compare by length of stay, not by the nightly number.
The Siesta and the Durango Lodge post their fees "per stay," so we show the same figure for two dogs. Ask whether a second dog adds a charge.
What happens if you leave the dog in the room?
At every property that posts a rule, you may not leave a dog alone. The penalties differ a lot, so read this before you plan a restaurant dinner.
| Property | Left alone or undeclared | Other dog charges |
|---|---|---|
| Strater Hotel | Dogs may be left only in a kennel, and not past 2 hours | May ask you to leave over noise, and you still owe the room |
| Rochester Hotel | $150 for a dog alone in a room or courtyard, even in a crate; $150 per dog if you arrive unannounced | Damage and odor charges at management's discretion |
| Leland House Suites | Dogs may not be left in the room | Noise fines up to $700 per incident |
| Durango Lodge | $100 minimum for a dog left alone or a barking complaint; $150 cleaning fee for an unregistered dog | Cats not allowed |
| Siesta Motel | Dogs may not be left alone at any time | $100 cleaning fee if a dog is on a bed or couch |
| Wapiti Lodge | Cleaning fee of up to $500 for an undeclared pet | Dogs off all furniture, beds included |
Only the Strater lets you leave a kenneled dog for up to two hours. Most others want you to book a sitter. The Leland House's policy page lists three local ones, and the Durango Lodge says to arrange a pet sitter. Healthy Hounds and Fat Cats, a daycare and boarding business at 571 Turner Drive, is on that list at (970) 375-9700. For the full list of vets, groomers and boarders, see this durangocolorado.org guide to vets and pet services.
Which cabins and RV parks take dogs?
Most do, and they cost less than a hotel. Westerly RV Park asks $2 a day, Pine River Lodge asks $15 a night, and the posted limits count dogs rather than pounds.
| Property | Pet rule as posted | Google rating |
|---|---|---|
| Westerly RV Park | $2 a day; fenced dog area | 4.1 (137) |
| Alpen Rose RV Park | Three-dog limit; dog wash, pet walking service and playground | 4.5 (694) |
| Durango Ranch RV Resort | Up to 3 dogs per site; fenced off-leash dog park; no pet left alone | 5.0 (231) |
| United Campground | "Pet friendly"; no fee posted | 4.1 (527) |
| Pine River Lodge, Vallecito Lake | $15 per pet per night; no cats; never left alone | 4.8 (300) |
| Junction West Vallecito | All cabins pet friendly; cabins charge a fee that the page does not list | 4.4 (183) |
Pine River Lodge and Junction West sit on Vallecito Lake, outside Durango, so count the drive. For the RV side, our Durango RV parks guide has rates and winter options. For kitchens and extra room, compare cabins and vacation rentals.
Are there pet friendly motels in Silverton?
Yes, and the fees run from nothing to $20. If your trip continues to Silverton on the train or the Million Dollar Highway, these three post dog rules. Travel Durango is run by Animas Marketing; the Prospector Motel, Triangle Motel and Kendall Mountain Lodge are Animas Marketing clients. We list them in alphabetical order, not by merit.
| Property | Pet rule as posted |
|---|---|
| Kendall Mountain Lodge | $20 per room, per night |
| Prospector Motel | Many ground-level rooms take dogs; fees and size limits by phone at (970) 387-5466 |
| Triangle Motel | Most rooms are pet friendly at no extra charge |
The sources are the Kendall Mountain Lodge FAQ, the Prospector pet page and the Triangle about page. Silverton's code caps leashes at 10 feet in town, per the Prospector's page.
What are the dog rules once you're in Durango?
Keep your dog on a leash in town. The City of Durango requires leashes in city parks, open space and trails, and its dog guide names one exception: the Smelter Mountain Off-Leash Dog Area at 21850 Hwy 160 West. Dogs are not allowed at Oxbow Preserve. We cover trails, patios and winter walks in dog friendly Durango.
What should you ask before you book a dog room?
- What is the fee, and is it per night or per stay? The difference is $45 against $225 on a three-night trip.
- Is there a weight, breed or number limit? Wapiti Lodge bans five breeds. The Quality Inn caps dogs at 75 pounds.
- Is a dog room open on my dates? The Rochester has two.
- Where will the dog stay during dinner? Most hotels forbid leaving it alone.
- Is there a deposit? The Quality Inn's page lists $300, refundable.
Date-sensitive: fees change. Re-check any figure here against the hotel's page before you reserve.