The best-rated Durango hotels with at least 100 Google reviews are the Gable House Inn (5.0), the Rochester Hotel (4.9) and the Leland House Suites (4.9). All three sit within a 13-minute walk of the train depot. If you want to be the closest to the tracks, the Durango Lodge at 150 E 5th St is a 3-minute walk away. The North Main motels, Siesta Motel (4.7) and Adventure Inn (4.6), rate higher than the Strater or the General Palmer but sit about 3 miles from downtown.
This list covers Durango hotels, inns and motels. It leaves out Silverton, vacation rentals and the Purgatory condos, which have their own guides. Every fact comes from each property's own website or its Google listing, checked in October 2026.
What are the best hotels in Durango?
- Gable House Inn (5.0), downtown. An 1892 Queen Anne inn with eight rooms and a full breakfast.
- The Rochester Hotel (4.9), downtown. A rebuilt 1892 hotel with 15 rooms and a garden bar.
- Leland House Suites (4.9), downtown. Twelve apartment-style rooms, each with a kitchen or kitchenette.
- Siesta Motel (4.7), North Main. A 1950s motel with free bikes and a dog fee that you pay once.
- Adventure Inn Durango (4.6), North Main. A 27-room motor lodge with a cedar hot tub and a fire pit.
- Strater Hotel (4.5), downtown. The 88-room 1887 landmark with a saloon and three restaurants and bars.
- General Palmer Hotel (4.5), downtown. Thirty-nine rooms beside the depot, with parking included and a light breakfast.
- Durango Lodge (4.3), downtown edge. Thirty-nine rooms with a hot tub, a seasonal pool and a grab-and-go breakfast.
How did we rank them?
Three filters decide who gets in, and one sort sets the order:
- Open, with a live website. Each property's own site had to load in October 2026 and post its policies or amenities.
- At least 100 Google reviews. Ratings are as synced to our listings that month.
- A rating of 4.0 or higher.
- Sort by rating, then by review count. The Rochester beats the Leland House at 4.9 because it has 472 reviews to 136. The same tiebreak puts the Strater above the General Palmer.
Beds, service and noise are not scored, because nobody can check them from a desk. A pool or a famous name earns no extra points either.
Seven properties did not make the list:
| Property | Google rating | Why it is not ranked |
|---|---|---|
| Boundary Hotel | 4.6 (64 reviews) | Under 100 reviews; a new riverside hotel at 3030 Main Ave that charges $35 a night for pets |
| Sleep Inn Durango | 4.4 (281 reviews) | Its Choice Hotels page would not load for us |
| Caboose Motel | 4.1 (332 reviews) | Its site lists no policies or amenities, only an address, a phone number and a booking link |
| Econo Lodge Inn & Suites | 4.0 (631 reviews) | Its Choice Hotels page would not load for us |
| Durango Downtown Inn | 3.9 (481 reviews) | Under 4.0, and its site blocked our check |
| Quality Inn | 3.7 (668 reviews) | Under 4.0 |
| The Junction Hotel and Hostel | 3.3 (784 reviews) | Under 4.0; it is a budget hotel and hostel |
How do the eight compare?
Walk times follow pedestrian routes from each street address to the depot at 479 Main Ave, measured in October 2026, so a hotel's own "near downtown" claim cannot skew the column.
| Hotel | Area | Google rating | Walk to the depot |
|---|---|---|---|
| Gable House Inn | Downtown, east side | 5.0 (119 reviews) | 0.60 mi, 13 min |
| The Rochester Hotel | Downtown | 4.9 (472 reviews) | 0.37 mi, 8 min |
| Leland House Suites | Downtown | 4.9 (136 reviews) | 0.34 mi, 7 min |
| Siesta Motel | North Main | 4.7 (606 reviews) | 3.0 mi, 64 min |
| Adventure Inn Durango | North Main | 4.6 (637 reviews) | 3.1 mi, 66 min |
| Strater Hotel | Downtown | 4.5 (1,814 reviews) | 0.33 mi, 7 min |
| General Palmer Hotel | Downtown | 4.5 (462 reviews) | 0.24 mi, 5 min |
| Durango Lodge | Downtown edge | 4.3 (362 reviews) | 0.13 mi, 3 min |
Now the stay details, all as the hotels post them:
| Hotel | Parking | Pets | Breakfast | Posted rate |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gable House Inn | Off-street, plus EV charging | Not stated | Full breakfast | Not listed |
| The Rochester Hotel | 8 free spaces behind the hotel; municipal-lot pass | Two dog rooms | Lobby coffee, fruit and baked goods, 7:30 to 10 am | Not listed |
| Leland House Suites | Free private lot, EV charging | $40 per pet per night in dog rooms | Not listed; Lola's Place next door | Not listed |
| Siesta Motel | Free | $45 once per stay; dogs only, two per room | Not listed; local coffee in the room | Not listed |
| Adventure Inn Durango | Free on site | Not stated | Not listed | Not listed |
| Strater Hotel | Three free lots nearby | $50 or $75 per dog per night, by weight | Not listed; three restaurants on site | Not listed |
| General Palmer Hotel | On site, included in the amenity fee | Not allowed | Light continental, free | Not listed |
| Durango Lodge | Free, one space per room | $50 per stay, two dogs at most | Grab-and-go, 6:30 to 10 am | Not listed |
Sources: the Gable House rooms page, the Rochester's policies, the Leland House policies, the Siesta pet policy, the Adventure Inn about page, the Strater pet policy and parking sheet, the General Palmer booking policy and the Durango Lodge policy page.
Not one of the eight posts a nightly rate. Each sends you to a booking engine that prices by date. That is why the last column reads "Not listed" in every row. Rates swing a lot between a July Saturday and an April Tuesday, so quote yourself two sets of dates before you decide.
One of those sites is wrong about its own location. Adventure Inn's site says it is half a mile from downtown, but its listed address, 3515 Main Ave, is about 3 miles from the depot. Neighbor Siesta Motel, at 3475 Main, says it is 2.7 miles from the train. Plan to drive from either.
Which Durango hotel is best for your trip?
- Walking to the train: Durango Lodge, then the General Palmer. The Lodge is 0.13 miles from the depot. The Palmer says the tracks run beside it, and its patio decks overlook them.
- A quiet couples' trip: The Rochester or the Gable House Inn. Both are small and both are east of the busiest Main Avenue blocks.
- Families: Adventure Inn has double-queen rooms and a hot tub, per its site. The Durango Lodge has a seasonal outdoor pool, an indoor hot tub and breakfast. The Leland House has kitchens.
- A ski trip: Purgatory is 25 miles north, so a slopeside bed beats any hotel here. See our Purgatory lodging guide. If you stay in town, Adventure Inn puts bike and ski racks in every room, and Siesta says it is 2.4 miles from the city's Chapman Hill ski area.
- River access: Siesta is two blocks from the Animas River Trail. The Leland House is three blocks from the trail. Boundary Hotel sits on the river but is not ranked above.
- Dogs: The fees differ in kind, as the next table shows.
- A tight budget: No hotel here posts a price, so we will not name a cheapest one. Compare live rates for the Durango Lodge and the two North Main motels, then see our cheap hotels guide.
What does a dog cost on a three-night stay? Pet fees as posted, for one dog:
| Hotel | Fee rule | Three nights |
|---|---|---|
| Leland House Suites | $40 per pet per night | $120 |
| Siesta Motel | $45 once per stay | $45 |
| Durango Lodge | $50 per stay | $50 |
| Strater Hotel | $50 per night up to 35 lb; $75 over | $150 or $225 |
The Rochester allows dogs in two rooms but posts no fee. For all the rules, read our pet-friendly hotels guide.
When should you book a Durango hotel?
Book as soon as your dates are set if they land on a train, ski or holiday date. These windows fill rooms in 2026 and 2027, with dates from our train guide and Christmas in Durango:
| Window | What drives demand | Dates |
|---|---|---|
| Summer | Full Silverton train, rafting, festivals | Train runs May 2 to Nov 1, 2026 |
| Early fall | Quieter; our where to stay guide calls it the easy window | September and October |
| Winter opening | Purgatory opening day, winter train | Nov 20, 2026; winter train to Apr 30, 2027 |
| Holidays | Polar Express, Noel Night (Dec 4) | Nov 20, 2026 to Jan 2, 2027 |
| Midwinter | Snowdown festival | Jan 29 to Feb 7, 2027 |
Cancellation rules matter as much as the rate. Here are the four that we could read:
| Hotel | Cancellation rule as posted |
|---|---|
| The Rochester Hotel | Card charged in full a week before arrival; cancel before arrival day for a 50% refund or a full credit good for a year |
| General Palmer Hotel | Cancel at least 48 hours ahead or lose one night plus tax |
| Durango Lodge | Cancel by email at least 3 days ahead, or pay one night plus fees |
| Leland House Suites | 50% deposit at booking; $40 fee if you cancel 7 or more days out; three nights charged inside 7 days; everything inside 48 hours |
Where else can you look?
If you like history with your pillow, our historic hotels guide goes deep on the Strater, Rochester and General Palmer. For a street-level look at where these hotels sit, see the Main Avenue guide. For kitchens and groups, compare cabins and vacation rentals. Browse every hotel, motel and bed-and-breakfast listing, or start at the stay hub.
Last updated: October 23, 2026.