None of the Durango hotels and motels we checked posts a nightly rate, so nobody can honestly name the cheapest room without a date and a booking screen. What you can compare is distance, ratings, what comes free and what the extras cost. The motels on North Main Avenue sit 1.6 to 3.1 miles from the train depot. The Durango Lodge is the closest of the budget motels, 0.13 miles from the tracks. The only public prices among the budget stays belong to campgrounds, where a tent site starts at $52 a night plus tax.
This guide compares 11 budget stays, one of them a hostel, plus three bed and breakfasts, using each property's own website and its Google listing, checked in October 2026. It leaves out Pagosa Springs and Bayfield. For the pricier end of town, see our best hotels in Durango and historic hotels guides.
Where are the cheap motels in Durango?
Most line North Main Avenue, the road out of town toward Purgatory. The table runs from nearest to farthest. Miles follow foot routes to the depot at 479 Main Ave. Spanish Trails and Wapiti Lodge show road miles instead, and every drive time uses road routes. We measured all of it in October 2026.
| Property | Distance to the depot | Google rating | Posted rate | Included, as posted | Dogs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Durango Lodge | 0.13 mi, 3 min walk | 4.3 (362) | Not listed | Free parking, grab-and-go breakfast, indoor hot tub, seasonal pool | $50 per stay |
| Durango Downtown Inn | 0.53 mi, 11 min walk | 3.9 (481) | Not listed | Indoor pool and spa tub, per its booking page | Sources disagree |
| Adobe Inn | 1.6 mi, 3 min drive | 3.4 (485) | Not listed | Microwave and fridge in each room, free parking, free Wi-Fi | Allowed; fee not posted |
| The Junction Hotel and Hostel | 1.8 mi, 4 min drive | 3.3 (784) | Not listed | Pool, communal kitchen, local coffee; 4-bed and 6-bed dorms | Not stated |
| Quality Inn | 2.4 mi, 4 min drive | 3.7 (668) | Not listed | Free cold breakfast, free Wi-Fi, trolley stop half a block away | $30 per pet per night |
| Boundary Hotel | 2.5 mi, 5 min drive | 4.6 (64) | Not listed | AAA and advance-booking discounts | $35 per night |
| Spanish Trails | 2.5 mi, 5 min drive | 3.2 (221) | Not listed | Apartment-style units for weekly or monthly stays | Not stated |
| Caboose Motel | 2.9 mi, 5 min drive | 4.1 (332) | Not listed | Not listed | Not stated |
| Siesta Motel | 3.0 mi, 5 min drive | 4.7 (606) | Not listed | Free parking, free bike rentals, local coffee in the room | $45 per stay |
| Adventure Inn | 3.1 mi, 5 min drive | 4.6 (637) | Not listed | Free parking, cedar hot tub, fire pit, bike and ski racks | Not stated |
| Wapiti Lodge | 10.6 mi, 15 min drive | 3.9 (278) | Not listed | Self-service stay with contactless check-in | $30 per pet per night |
Ratings are Google's, as synced to our listings in October 2026. Click a listing for the current figure.
Two cautions. Adventure Inn's site says it is half a mile from downtown, but its address is about 3 miles from the depot, so plan to drive. And the Durango Downtown Inn's rating of 3.9 comes with a pet conflict: Downtown Durango's guide lists it as dog friendly, while its booking site marks pets as not allowed. The full dog rules are in our pet-friendly hotels guide.
How did we choose these properties?
A property had to be open, in the Durango area, and have its own working website. Seven listings failed that test:
| Listing | Why it is not in the table |
|---|---|
| Budget Inn Durango | The listed website is an unfinished parked page on a .xyz domain |
| Adobe Inn Durango (second listing) | The listed website is a wowotrip.com page, not the motel's own |
| The Durango Lodge (second listing) | Same wowotrip.com problem; the real Durango Lodge is in the table |
| Four Winds Motel | No website |
| Jarvis Suite Hotel | No website |
| Econo Lodge Inn and Suites | Its Choice Hotels page would not load for us |
| Sleep Inn Durango | Its Choice Hotels page would not load for us |
We did not rank the 11 rows. With no posted rates, a ranking would only repeat Google's star average, which tells you about beds and service, not price.
Which budget stays actually post a price?
Among the budget options we checked, only campgrounds and RV parks do. Here is every nightly price we could read in October 2026, all before tax.
| Place | What it posts | Season or note |
|---|---|---|
| United Campground | $52 tent site; $71 water and electric; $76 to $89 full hookup | 2026 rates; reserve by phone |
| Westerly RV Park | $60 winter, $70 summer, plus $5 for 50 amp | $2 a day per pet |
| Durango Ranch RV Resort | $73 to $86 full hookup | Mar 25 to Nov 14, 2026 |
| Alpen Rose RV Park | $66 to $87 winter; $77 to $103 summer | Fully self-contained RVs only; no tents |
For tents, the United Campground at $52 is the lowest posted price we found. For vans and rigs, our Durango RV parks guide has the full rate comparison, and the camping guide covers free and Forest Service sites.
When is Durango lodging cheapest?
Local sources point to April and May, and to late September through October, as the lowest-priced windows. Our best time to visit guide calls spring "mud season" and the most affordable stretch of the year. It also says winter lodging outside the holidays often costs less than summer.
This year has a gap worth knowing. The full Silverton train season ends November 1, 2026, and Purgatory opens November 20, so November 2 to 19 sits between the two crowds. Here are the busy windows to avoid, from our train guide and Christmas guide:
| Window | What fills the rooms | Dates |
|---|---|---|
| Summer | Full Silverton train, rafting | Train runs May 2 to Nov 1, 2026 |
| Winter opening | Purgatory opens, Polar Express | Nov 20, 2026 to Jan 2, 2027 |
| Midwinter | Snowdown festival | Jan 29 to Feb 7, 2027 |
We could not check whether rates fall in these quiet weeks, because no one posts them. Quote two sets of dates at the same property before you book.
Which length-of-stay deals are posted?
A few, and the math is modest. Every deal below is as posted in October 2026.
| Deal | Source | What it works out to |
|---|---|---|
| Alpen Rose, summer 30-amp site | $77 a night or $513 a week | $73.29 a night by the week |
| Alpen Rose, winter 30-amp site | $66 a night, $438 a week or $900 a month | $62.57 by the week; $30 a night by the month |
| Durango Ranch RV Resort | 10 percent off stays over 7 days | Applied at checkout |
| JW Durango Riverside | 15 percent off a week with the code "Weekly" | Posted on its amenities page |
| Boundary Hotel | Lower rate for non-refundable advance booking; AAA discount | Amount not posted |
The big saving is the monthly rate. Alpen Rose's winter month works out to $30 a night, against $66 for a single night, if you count a 30-night month. Spanish Trails also sells weekly and monthly apartment-style stays, but it posts no figures.
What does a cheap stay still cost you?
Look past the room price to these posted extras:
- Breakfast. The Quality Inn and the Durango Lodge include a cold or grab-and-go breakfast. At the Junction, you can cook in a communal kitchen with eight burners.
- Parking. The Durango Lodge, Adobe Inn, Siesta Motel and Adventure Inn all list free parking.
- Pets. A dog adds $45 at the Siesta or $90 at the Quality Inn over three nights.
- Cancellation. The Durango Lodge wants three days' notice, or you pay a night plus fees.
What are the best bed and breakfasts in Durango?
By Google rating, the Gable House Inn and Antlers on the Creek tie at 5.0, with Country Sunshine at 4.9. All three serve breakfast and none is cheap, but each posts rules you can read before you commit.
| B&B | Location | Google rating | Breakfast | Children | Pets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gable House Inn | East 5th Ave; 0.60 mi, 13 min walk to the depot | 5.0 (119) | Gourmet breakfast | Not stated | Not stated |
| Antlers on the Creek | Lightner Creek; 4.9 mi, 9 min drive | 5.0 (167) | Homemade gourmet breakfast, plus a free happy hour from 5 to 6 pm | None under 13 | Not stated |
| Country Sunshine | North of town on US-550 | 4.9 (196) | Continental buffet with eggs, muffins, bagels and fruit | Ages 6 and up | Not allowed |
Here is how they differ. The Gable House is an 1892 Queen Anne home that sleeps up to 16 if you book the whole house, and it adds off-street parking and EV charging. Antlers has five suites and a hot tub. Country Sunshine has six rooms, an outdoor hot tub and a grill guests can use, and it calls itself the best-value B&B in Durango. That claim is the inn's own.
The deposit rules also differ:
- Antlers: 50 percent at booking. Cancel at least 14 days out for a refund minus $50 per room.
- Country Sunshine: one night at booking. Cancel more than two weeks out for a refund minus $15 per room. Peak weekends may need a 2-night minimum.
Three B&B listings are left out. Lou's Bed and Breakfast has 4 reviews and a unit number for an address, and its site would not load for our crawler. Elk Trace and Elkwood Manor are in Pagosa Springs. Our listing for the Gable House also appears twice; we used the main one.
Which cheap option fits your trip?
- You are riding the train. The Durango Lodge, a 3-minute walk from the depot.
- You are watching every dollar. A tent site at the United Campground, or the Junction's dorms for a solo trip. The Junction posts no dorm price, so ask.
- You want a pool and a fridge. The Durango Lodge has a seasonal pool; the Adobe Inn has fridges and microwaves.
- You have a dog. The Siesta Motel's one-time $45 fee is the lowest posted among the motels.
- You want a hosted stay. Country Sunshine for ages 6 and up, Antlers for guests 13 and older.
- You want more room or a kitchen. Compare cabins and vacation rentals, or read where to stay in Durango to pick a zone first. Skiing? See the Purgatory lodging guide.
Browse every motel, hotel and bed and breakfast listing, or start at the stay hub.