The best massage in Durango for most visitors is at Massage Intervention: 4.9 stars across 195 Google reviews and the lowest posted 60-minute price we found, $100. River's Edge Wellness Center on Main Ave includes a cedar sauna and river room with every massage. Durango Hot Springs Spa pairs a massage with two hours in the mineral pools. This guide compares those three and three more Durango studios, using the prices each one posts on its own website in October 2026. No business paid to be listed.
Which Durango massage spas are worth booking?
Here is our ranking of the Durango day spas and massage studios a visitor can book, with the one thing each does best:
- Massage Intervention: the lowest posted 60-minute price, seven days a week, with couples massage.
- River's Edge Wellness Center: a Main Ave day spa where the sauna and river room come with the massage.
- Pure Skin Organic Day Spa: the longest posted massage menu, plus a couples option.
- Amaya Natural Therapeutics: massage with a wooden hot tub, cold plunge and cedar sauna, though only member prices are posted.
- Waterfall Spa: a small boutique spa on County Road 203 that posts no massage prices.
One more option sits outside the ranking. Durango Hot Springs Resort & Spa has a full spa inside the resort. It was not in our listings data when we ranked the studios, so it stays outside the ranking. Its posted menu is in the table below.
How did we rank them?
We used three tests that a reader can repeat:
- At least 25 Google reviews. Counts are as synced to our listings in October 2026 and will drift.
- Massage prices on the business's own site. A "call for pricing" page does not count.
- A stated way to book. An online calendar, a phone number or a request form, plus a posted cancellation rule where one exists.
Massage Intervention, River's Edge and Pure Skin pass all three. Ties go to the higher review count. Amaya has more reviews than River's Edge but posts only member prices, so it ranks fourth. Waterfall Spa has 35 reviews and no posted prices, so it ranks fifth.
We left out studios with fewer than 25 reviews and any studio whose website we could not load. One studio, Durango Movement, lists a different street address on its site than in our data, so we did not rank it until that is settled.
How do massage prices in Durango compare?
Every price below is as posted on each business's own website in October 2026. "Not listed" means the site gives no number.
| Business | Type | 60-minute massage | 90-minute massage | Couples room | Soak or sauna | How to book | Google rating |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Massage Intervention | Massage studio | $100 | $150 | Yes, same room or separate rooms; price not listed | None listed; hot stones or cupping add $20 | By appointment, 7 days a week | 4.9 (195) |
| River's Edge Wellness Center | Day spa | $125 Swedish, $140 deep tissue | $185 Swedish, $198 deep tissue | Not stated | Sauna and river room included; cold plunge plus sauna $25 for 30 min | Online | 4.9 (90) |
| Pure Skin Organic Day Spa | Day spa | $115 Swedish, $125 deep tissue | $155 Swedish, $165 deep tissue | Yes, "Two-Gether" from $230 for 60 min, $310 for 90 | None; add-ons from $20 | Online; couples by phone | 4.9 (87) |
| Amaya Natural Therapeutics | Massage studio | Not listed (members: $90 for 55 min) | Not listed (members: $135 for 85 min) | Not stated | Hot tub, cold plunge and sauna, $20 for 90 min | Phone; card held, 24-hour cancellation | 4.8 (125) |
| Waterfall Spa | Boutique day spa | Not listed | Not listed | Yes, "Couples/Duet" | Infrared sauna or hot tub $20 added, or $35 per person per hour | Phone only, no walk-ins | 4.4 (35) |
| Durango Hot Springs Resort & Spa | Resort spa | $130 for 50 min | $190 for 80 min | Yes, $310 for 50 min, $410 for 80 | Two hours of soaking included; private cedar tub $40 | Reservations required; 24-hour cancellation | 4.5 (2,019) |
Two notes on the table. The resort spa adds an automatic 20 percent gratuity to every service, which the other five do not state. And Amaya's member prices require a $99 annual membership.
Prices move, so confirm on the business's site before you book.
What does a massage cost per hour?
Posted menus use different session lengths, so the per-hour math is the fair comparison. This table uses each spa's longest standard session.
| Business | Session | Posted price | Per hour |
|---|---|---|---|
| Amaya (members) | 85 min Swedish-style therapeutic | $135 | $95 |
| Massage Intervention | 90 min | $150 | $100 |
| Pure Skin | 90 min Swedish | $155 | $103 |
| River's Edge | 90 min Swedish | $185 | $123 |
| Durango Hot Springs Spa | 80 min Swedish | $190 | $143, or $171 with gratuity |
The resort's number looks steep until you count what comes with it. The spa says every service includes two hours of soaking, and a two-hour soak pass costs $49 on its own. Subtract that and the 80-minute Swedish massage nets $141, about $106 an hour before gratuity.
Which Durango spa is best for your trip?
- Best for couples: Pure Skin posts the clearest couples price, $230 and up for 60 minutes together. Durango Hot Springs Spa costs more, $310 for 50 minutes. But it has a private cedar tub you can add for $40 and the mineral pools afterward.
- Best after a ski or trail day: River's Edge. Its sauna and cold plunge sit in the same building as its $140 deep tissue and athletic sports massage. Amaya is the cheaper heat-and-cold option, with the hot tub, cold plunge and sauna at $20 for 90 minutes. For sports-focused bodywork, see our sports massage guide.
- Best on a budget: Massage Intervention, at $100 for an hour and $150 for 90 minutes.
- Best for a splurge: Durango Hot Springs Spa. You pay for the setting: pools, ofuro tubs and a mountain view.
- Best for a quiet, small room: Waterfall Spa hosts one or two parties at a time, by reservation. Ask for prices when you call, since none are posted.
Can you combine a massage with a hot springs soak?
Yes, and Durango makes it easy. Durango Hot Springs Resort & Spa sits 8.7 miles north of downtown, about 21 minutes by car, and bundles two hours of soaking with every spa service. Our hot springs guide compares it with the springs in Pagosa Springs and Ouray, including prices and drive times.
In town, River's Edge and Amaya offer soaks, saunas and plunges without a drive. If you are staying near the mountain, our Purgatory lodging guide and ski areas near Durango cover where to base yourself. Rest days fit well into the winter activities beyond skiing list and a Christmas in Durango trip. Still choosing a hotel? Start with our best hotels in Durango ranking.
How far ahead should you book a massage in Durango?
None of the six posts a booking lead time, so we cannot give you a number. What the sites do say is useful. Durango Hot Springs requires a reservation and a credit card, with 24 hours' notice to cancel. Amaya holds a card and charges 50 percent of the session for a late cancel, though it says same-day appointments are often open. Massage Intervention takes appointments seven days a week and also asks for 24 hours' notice. Waterfall Spa books by phone only. For holiday weeks and ski-season weekends, call a few days ahead.
Is Woodhouse Spa still open in Durango?
No. The Durango Herald reported that Woodhouse Spa at 1521 Main Ave closed after its owner ended her lease with the building's new owners. River's Edge Wellness Center now operates from the same address. If you hold an old Woodhouse gift certificate, the Herald story explains the situation. Salt 360 Float Studio is also paused: its website says it is temporarily closed while it looks for a new space.
How do you check a massage therapist's license?
Colorado licenses massage therapists through the Division of Professions and Occupations, per DORA's Office of Massage Therapy Licensure. The state runs a free license lookup, and a check takes about a minute. This guide covers logistics and posted prices only. It is not medical advice. If you are injured or in pain that will not ease, see a health care provider first.
Where can you find more Durango massage options?
Browse the full wellness and spas listings for more studios and bodyworkers. If you live in Durango, our sister directory ranks local therapists in its massage and bodywork guide.