Skip to content
Mineral-stained terraces spilling into a turquoise hot springs pool at Pagosa Hot Springs

Travel Durango › Travel Guides › Durango Hot Springs: 8 Springs Compared (2026 Prices)

Durango Hot Springs: 8 Springs Compared (2026 Prices)

The closest hot springs to Durango is Durango Hot Springs Resort & Spa, 8.7 miles north of downtown and about 21 minutes by car. A two-hour soak costs $49 and a three-hour soak costs $59, per the resort's rate page in October 2026. The next soaks are in Pagosa Springs, roughly 83 minutes east, where prices run from $25 to $74. This guide compares eight hot springs within about 3.5 hours of Durango by price, drive time, hours, age rules and lodging.

Drive times are computed from downtown Durango with OpenStreetMap-based routing (OSRM) in October 2026. They assume normal conditions and no stops. Snow, construction and weekend traffic add time. Prices and hours are as posted on each springs' own website in October 2026.

Which hot springs are near Durango, and how do they compare?

Hot springsRoute and drive from downtown DurangoPosted day passHoursReservationsClothing-optionalKidsLodging on site
Durango Hot Springs Resort & SpaAnimas Valley, 8.7 mi, 21 min$49 for 2 hr, $59 for 3 hr9 a.m. to 10 p.m. dailyRequired on the soak page, "recommended" on the home pageNo, swimsuitsYes in the family pools; other pools are for ages 18 and olderNone listed
The Springs Resort (Pagosa Springs)US-160, 60 mi, 83 min$74 general; $119 to $159 Wellness Pass9 a.m. to 9:30 p.m.Online booking offered; not stated as requiredNot statedYes, $42 for ages 3 to 12Yes
Overlook Mineral Springs Spa (Pagosa Springs)US-160, 60 mi, 83 min$30; $25 seniors and kidsOpens 9 a.m.; closing time not postedNot statedNot statedYes, $25 kid rateNone listed
Healing Waters Resort & Spa (Pagosa Springs)US-160, 60 mi, 82 min$25 ages 13 to 5411 a.m. to 10 p.m.No reservations neededNot statedYes, $18 for ages 3 to 12Yes, lodging guests soak free
Ouray Hot Springs PoolUS-550, 70 mi, 109 min$30 ages 18 to 6411 a.m. to 8 p.m. per the visitor site; 10 a.m. to 9 p.m. per the cityNo reservations neededNot statedYes, $18 for ages 3 to 17None
Wiesbaden Hot Springs (Ouray)US-550, 70 mi, 110 min$55 for 2 hr8 a.m. to 9 p.m. for day guestsDay soaks first come; Lorelei pool and massages by reservationLorelei private pool onlyHotel ages 12 and upYes
Orvis Hot Springs (Ridgway)US-550 through Ouray, 83 mi, 136 min$35 all day9 a.m. to 9 p.m.Not stated for soakingYes, ages 18 and older; suits required for 17 and underYes, $12 for ages 4 to 12Yes, rooms and camping
Dunton Hot Springs (near Dolores)US-160, CO-184 and CO-145, 88 mi, about 3.5 hrNot listedNot listedPackages only; not statedNot statedNot statedYes, cabins

Dunton's 3.5-hour estimate is the routing engine's figure for an address on County Road 38, so allow extra time and confirm directions with the resort.

How much does a day at the hot springs really cost?

The ticket price is only half of it. Driving time changes the math, so here is a cost-and-time table for a pair of guests and for a family of four. The family figure uses two full-price tickets and two tickets at each springs' posted child rate.

Hot springsRound-trip drivingTwo peopleFamily of four
Durango Hot Springs Resort & Spa42 min$98 (2-hour pass)$146
Healing Waters (Pagosa Springs)2 hr 44 min$50$86
Overlook (Pagosa Springs)2 hr 46 min$60$110
The Springs Resort (Pagosa Springs)2 hr 46 min$148$232
Ouray Hot Springs Pool3 hr 38 min$60$96
Wiesbaden (Ouray)3 hr 40 min$110Not listed
Orvis Hot Springs (Ridgway)4 hr 32 min$70$94

The surprise is the Durango resort. Its ticket costs more than Healing Waters, Overlook, Ouray or Orvis, yet the round trip takes 42 minutes instead of nearly three hours. At $59 for three hours, it works out to about $20 an hour. Healing Waters is the cheapest entry in the region at $25, and its rate page posts no time limit.

What is Durango Hot Springs Resort & Spa (the old Trimble)?

It is the same property people still search for as Trimble Hot Springs. New owners bought it in 2019 and rebuilt it, the resort says. The resort no longer honors old Trimble passes, per its rate page. The address is 6475 County Road 203, off US-550 north of town.

What you get: 32 mineral pools, two cold plunges, a 25-meter swimming pool, five private cedar ofuro tubs and a reflexology walking path. The home page counts 19 family-friendly pools and 13 for guests 18 and older. The soak page says eight family pools sit beside the swimming pool. Admission is $49 for two hours or $59 for three. Children's tickets are $24 and $29, though the rate page does not state the age cutoff. The resort is open 9 a.m. to 10 p.m. daily, and on Thanksgiving and Christmas it opens at 2:30 p.m.

Reservations are where the resort contradicts itself. The soak page says reservations are required. The home page says recommended. Book ahead and the question goes away. Its etiquette page asks children up to 15 to stay under supervision, and children 8 and under to stay within arm's reach. Outside food and alcohol are not allowed. Towels are for sale at the front desk from $5.99 to $25.99.

The ofuro tubs hold one or two people and are booked for exclusive use. The resort posts no price for them, so call 970-247-0212. Massage prices at its spa are in our Durango massage and spa guide.

There is history here, too. According to the resort's history page, Frank Trimble moved into the area in 1874 and built a two-story hotel in 1882. T.D. Burns built the three-story Hermosa House in 1896, and it burned on July 30, 1931.

Is Pagosa Springs worth the drive?

If soaking is the point of the day, yes. Pagosa Springs is 60 miles east on US-160, about 83 minutes without stops, and three very different soaks sit within a few blocks of each other. Our Pagosa Springs day trip guide covers the rest of the day.

The Springs Resort is the big one. It sits on the Mother Spring, which holds the Guinness World Record as the deepest geothermal hot spring at 1,002+ feet, according to the resort. General admission is $74 and covers 25 original pools, five of them for guests 18 and older. The Wellness Day Pass is $119 Monday to Thursday and $159 Friday to Sunday, and adds 23 more pools, a halotherapy sauna and a mud studio, per its day pass page. Seniors get $3 off and military and first responders $5 off.

There is a local rate, too. The $30 Local Day Pass requires ID showing residency within a 60-mile radius. Durango is about 60 road miles away, so ask the resort whether a Durango address qualifies. The Springs Resort does not say.

Overlook Mineral Springs Spa is the one with the rooftop tubs, set in an old Victorian-style bathhouse above the San Juan River. Soaking runs $30, with a $25 rate for seniors and kids. Go early. The spa's own tip is that mornings until about 3 p.m. stay calm and the place turns social after 6. Beer and wine are for sale at the counter, but outside alcohol and glass bottles are banned. A 60-minute massage there is $128.

Healing Waters Resort & Spa is the budget pick: $25 for ages 13 to 54, $20 for seniors 55 and up, $18 for ages 3 to 12. It needs no reservation and is open 11 a.m. to 10 p.m. The pools are plain mineral water with nothing added, and lodging guests soak free. Note that no lifeguard is on duty, and youth 16 and under must come with a guardian.

One warning from The Springs Resort and Overlook, in nearly the same words: the sulfur-rich water tarnishes silver. Leave rings and necklaces in the car.

What about Ouray, Ridgway and Dunton?

These springs are for a trip, not a quick soak. Count at least 3.6 hours of driving for the round trip to Ouray.

Ouray Hot Springs Pool belongs to the city and sits in a box canyon. In winter you soak while looking up at snow-covered canyon walls, which is the whole appeal. Most visitors pay $30 (ages 18 to 64). Seniors 65 to 74 pay $24, ages 3 to 17 pay $18, and guests 75 and up get in for $10, per the visitor site. Under 3 is free. The Overlook Pool runs hottest, 102 to 106 degrees, and it is for guests 18 and older.

Hours disagree between official sources. The visitor site says 11 a.m. to 8 p.m. The City of Ouray's August 2026 press release says the Overlook, Hot and Lap pools run 10 a.m. to 9 p.m. for the rest of the season, because lifeguard shortages closed the slides, activity pool and shallow pool. Call before you leave. Two dates matter this fall: on Oct. 25 and Nov. 15, the pool closes to guests 18 and older at 5 p.m. for Teen Takeover. Our Ouray day trip guide has the full plan, and our Ouray Ice Park guide covers the winter climbing next door.

Wiesbaden Hot Springs is a historic lodge with a 108-degree vapor cave, an outdoor pool and a private clothing-optional pool called the Lorelei. A two-hour day soak is $55 per person, per its day soaker page. It is first come, not sold in advance, and capped at about 15 people at a time. Massages are open to non-guests and include an hour of soaking beforehand.

Orvis Hot Springs in Ridgway is the clothing-optional one: guests 18 and older may go without a suit, and guests 17 and under must wear one, per its rates page. All-day soaking is $35. A room for one or two guests is $249 plus tax a night and includes soaking. Camping is $65 per person per night.

Dunton Hot Springs is a private resort in a restored ghost town. Its site mentions day and overnight packages but posts no day-pass price, so we list it as Not listed. Treat it as a stay, not a drop-in.

Which hot springs fit which trip?

If you want...Go toWhy
A soak after a Purgatory ski day or a raft tripDurango Hot Springs Resort21 minutes from town, so it fits the end of any day
The cheapest soak in the regionHealing Waters, Pagosa Springs$25, no reservation, lodging on site
The most pools in one placeThe Springs Resort25 original pools, plus 23 wellness pools on the higher pass
A quiet, small soakOverlook or WiesbadenSmall bathhouses, with Wiesbaden capped at about 15 guests
A clothing-optional soakOrvis, or the Lorelei at WiesbadenBoth state the rule for guests 18 and older
A scenic winter road tripOurayThe box canyon is half the reason to go
A romantic overnightWiesbaden or OrvisBoth have rooms with soaking included

Are the roads to the hot springs safe in winter?

Take Pagosa if the forecast looks iffy. US-160 runs through Bayfield and Piedra, and Wolf Creek Pass, the real climb, sits east of town where you never go. Ouray means three passes: Coal Bank, Molas and Red Mountain. Ridgway adds about 30 more minutes.

The Colorado Department of Transportation says it can enforce its Traction Law on any state highway when conditions require it. Under the law, passenger vehicles need all-weather or winter tires with at least 3/16-inch tread, or chains, and the fine starts at $100 plus a $33 surcharge, per CDOT. A violation that blocks a lane can cost $500 plus a $157 surcharge. CDOT also scheduled US-160 Wolf Creek, US-550 Red Mountain and CO-145 Lizard Head passes to close on Nov. 25, 2025 for winter maintenance preparation, with lengthy morning delays.

Check COtrip.org or call 511 before you go. Our Million Dollar Highway guide and Silverton in winter cover the pass in detail. If the forecast looks bad, soak at the Durango resort and skip the passes.

When is the best time to soak?

Any month works, but the season changes the mood. Winter is the classic: steam rising while snow falls, and a soak after a day at Purgatory. Our Durango in winter guide leans into that. Summer is busier, so reserve ahead in peak weeks. Plan the rest of the day around the soak: raft, ride or hike in the morning, soak late afternoon, then eat dinner in town. For more ideas, see the things to do guide, our day trips overview and where to stay in Durango.

What if you want a spa or massage instead?

Durango's spa scene changed this year. River's Edge Wellness Center now runs from the former Woodhouse Spa building at 1521 Main Ave, and Salt 360 Float Studio says it is temporarily closed. Our Durango massage and spas guide ranks the studios and day spas that are open, with posted prices. For sports bodywork, read the sports massage guide, or browse the wellness and spas listings.

What should you bring?

  • A swimsuit, towel and flip-flops. Towels are for sale or rent at most places.
  • A water bottle. Heat and altitude both dry you out. Durango Hot Springs, The Springs Resort and Overlook all let you bring one.
  • A reservation on peak days. Holiday weekends and ski-season Saturdays fill up.
  • Quiet manners. Shower before you soak, and keep your voice low.

← All Durango travel guides